WillisRescue Me ID: 23-10-22-00352

About Willis

Adoption Fee: $250
German Shepherd mix
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Male

Hi there, I'm Willis, your future best friend and cuddle buddy. I'm a 2-year-old, 50-pound, German shepherd mix with a tan and black coat and a heart of gold. I'm an energetically playful and friendly dog who loves to learn new things and play with other dogs. I'm good with children too, but I prefer older ones who I won't topple if I get the zoomies. I am also cat friendly. I pretty much love everyone! I LOVE playing tug-of-war!! I like to play with toys and am learning very quickly to bring the tennis balls back to be thrown again. I also enjoy playing chase and will snatch things off of tables so you will come after me. While this tends to be really funny, it's a habit my foster is working on breaking me of. I am also really good at catching treats in mid-air. I'm very smart and I like to solve puzzles and games. I know some basic commands like 'sit', 'outside', 'treat', and 'box'. I am GREAT at walking on the leash. I take my time and don't pull. I would benefit from obedience training which will give me more structure and help me firm up other things I don't know. I don't need a fancy trainer. Even a basic group class will help me know what you expect of me and will help us connect. I'm affectionate and will give you hugs and kisses when you ask me. While loyal to my people, I also love to play with other dogs. I'm fairly submissive and I take corrections from other dogs well. I spent the first year of my life on a chain, then I was taken to a Memphis Animal Services (shelter) where I was almost put to sleep. Luckily, I was rescued just in the nick of time. My foster family and rescue have been treating me for heartworms and helping me with my potty training and other behaviors. Something to know, I don't like it when someone grabs my collar directly, it makes me scared, and I might growl or nip. I'm fine if you use a leash or a harness with gentle tugs to give me direction on walks or correct me as needed. I just need some patience and understanding from you to either avoid these situations or help me overcome this fear. This is another reason why I need to go to a home with no kids or older kids who will not pull me around and make me scared. I'm looking for a forever home where I can be loved and cherished. I love to lean into my people and give them dog hugs. While I can be nervous around new people at first, I do quickly warm up to them. I would love a fenced yard where I can run and play safely. I also need a playmate, preferably a dog who can play with me. I have so much potential and I'm ready to show you what a great dog I can be. I'm being fostered in Cordova, TN but I can be transported to other states for the right home. If you think you are the one for me, please fill out an application and let's meet. I can't wait to play with you! *Must be at least 21 to apply.


Shelby County
Cordova, Tennessee 38016

Contact Person:



  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Good with Kids and Adults


  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

View Map

Send message

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.