Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

MurphyRescue Me ID: 23-09-29-00004

No longer available

About Murphy

Adoption Fee: $50
Border Collie / Australian Cattle Dog
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Female

We have a 2-year old female (1/2 Border Collie, 1/2 Australian Cattle Dog) named Murphy. We got her when she was 8 weeks old and we know that she came from a good home. We keep her up-to-date with vaccinations and general vet visits. She is healthy and very personable to 'her people'. We live in a rural neighborhood in Minnesota on a couple acres. She is mostly a house dog, is house-trained, and gets along well with our other smaller dog (Shih Tzu-Terrier mix). She is wonderfully loving to us (my wife and I, and our college-aged children). I grew up with Heelers as a kid (working dogs on a farm) and I thought we could handle her with the right amount of training and attention. When we got her, I worked from home and my intention was to have a running companion because at the time I ran trail marathons and knew that she'd have the energy and drive to run with me. A little over a year ago I got a different job that has me in Northern Illinois Mondays through Fridays and I am only home on the weekends and we just aren't able to provide Murphy the attention and the energy outlets she needs. From Day 1 she has had high anxiety around strangers (both people and dogs), and struggles when people come to our house. I've taken her to obedience training when she was a puppy and she was so high-strung that we couldn't even have her train around the other dogs in the class. She gets 'nippy' and my wife is unable to safely handle her on her own when I'm not present and we're at a point where we know we just need to find her a better home where she can get the freedom, attention, and purpose that her breed needs. She is a wonderfully loyal and loving companion but her herding/watchdog instincts are too much for our environment. We are willing to be helpful and patient. We love her and take care of her but like I said, my job situation has me away too much and we just want to get her in a better situation so she can have a more fulfilling life for her. Please respond back to me with any follow-up questions you may have. Thanks in advance...

Scott County
Lakeville, Minnesota


  • Not Good with Other Dogs
  • Good with Most Cats
  • Good with Kids and Adults


  • High Energy
  • Submissive


  • Spayed
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.