Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

OlafRescue Me ID: 23-09-07-00317

No longer available

About Olaf

Adoption Fee: $300.00
Alaskan Malamute
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Male

Hi, I'm Olaf, and I like warm hugs. I'm a 5 and half year old male Alaskan Malamute with the largest personality! Unfortunately my pawrents couldn't keep me once a little hooman came into the mix. To be honest, it was a very difficult time for all of us but we think we made the best choice so I can live my life to the fullest. And I like to live to the fullest daily! I like to go on daily walks with a good mountain hike sprinkled in when able (doesn't matter the season), enjoy a good snooze session while watching TV, and play fetch with any type of ball. I apparently am a rare mal in the fact that I LOVE to play fetch and 80% of the time bring it back to you. Sometimes I even get the zoomies because I love to play fetch so much, especially if you cheer me on and clap with your hands, it's like I'm the world champion of fetch! The other thing that floats my boat is going for car rides. There is nothing better than a good old ride in the car. I like my window down for some fresh air to blow through my fur. I've been to quite a few states but my longest road trip so far was 15 hours. Like I said, I love road trips as long as I get a few potty breaks along the way. I think it's also fun to stay in hotels. I wasn't allowed on furniture with my old pawrents, but they were suckers in hotels and let me on the bed. I liked to be snuggling with them for maybe 5-10 minutes, but then I get too warm and go find a cool corner to sprawl around with my legs in the air - typical mal comfort style! As per most northern breeds, I can't get enough of the snow - my name is Olaf after all. My pawrents used to take me skiing and I would happily wait for them sitting in the truck with breaks throughout the day. After they finished skiing, I knew it was my time to enjoy the snow. Thanks to my 50 foot leash (because I can't be trusted off leash), I would go prance around in the deep powder and have the biggest smile on my face!! Snow and water are so fun to play in. I consider myself a part maligator. I say part because I don't like to swim (even if I have a life jacket on), I just like to wade in the water. If I can't touch the bottom, no way am I going any farther in the water, not even for a toy. I'll wait until the waves bring the toy back to the shore. In my future home, I'd like to be the king of kings so it's best I'm an only pup. It's not that I don't get along with other dogs, but I can be a bit touchy. It also doesn't help I was attacked by an off leash golden retriever on three separate occasions(!!!) so I like to play some defense. Another thing I think my future home needs to know is that I thoroughly enjoy treats and am very food motivated. Some of my favorites include steak, eggs, romaine lettuce, carrots, and watermelon. The crunchy vegetables are just so tasty but once I see a watermelon, I am your best friend. My pawrents have found the only way they can brush my never ending furry coat is to entice and distract me with treats. Sometimes I just soak up all the snuggles, and other times I like my personal bubble which is why I would do best in a home with no children or older children that can respect my boundaries. The first 1.5 years of my life weren't the best and then I had the most amazing 4 years with my pawrents. I'm hopeful that my next family can truly just spoil me, I think I deserve it. I love being part of the family and going everywhere with you! I also just finished a two week board and train program that helped me learn how to walk on a leash (still need some help). I know basic commands such as sit, down, roll over (only in grass), shake, high-five, wait, break, go to bed, nd load up. I was getting fed in my crate, but I don't really love it. I can become impatient so maybe you can help me with that but really I'd rather just relax next to you or in the same room as you. I should also mention, the more belly rubs the better. While watching some TV, I'll lay right next to you and be in the perfect spot for some soothing belly rubs. Unless there's an animal on the TV, then I'm completely zoned in watching. My favorite is the nature shows - I like to get as close to the TV as I can when I see animals. I'm up to date on all my vaccines and am neutered. I'm really a diamond in the rough when it comes to malamutes. I'm smart, have an incredible personality, and truly LOVE on my people. Email: [email protected] Available to Adopters in Idaho, Wyoming, Montana, Utah & Northern Nevada

Ada County
Boise, Idaho 83701


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.