Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

Coal #rub-my-bellyRescue Me ID: 23-08-15-00410

No longer available

About Coal #rub-my-belly

Adoption Fee: $250
Lab / Australian Kelpie
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Male

Arf! Arf, everyone! I'm Coal, a sweet, friendly, affectionate, very playful, loyal, eager-to-please 55-pound black Lab/ Australian Kelpie mix fella with a few white tuxedo points and large, pointed, erect ears who was born about August 2021. It's hard for me to wrap my head around my size because I love to cuddle as much as a toy dog does! And boy howdy! Do I love for my tummy to be rubbed. I'll shamelessly roll on my back for anyone. If you get at my eye level, I'll nudge you with my nose to remind you that I'll appreciate any loving you want to give me. Have you ever been dumped? Yeah, so have I. I showed up at my future foster mom's construction site one day, and since all the nice men kept feeding me and playing with me, I just stuck around! When Foster Mom saw that it was getting to be too dangerous for me to stay, thankfully she took me home with her and gave me a nice, cool place to stay during the summer heat wave. She noticed immediately that my previous owner had not provided me with much fun or training. For one thing, the first time I heard a squeak come out of a toy, I couldn't understand what had just happened! Instead of tearing it up like you'd think I would, I treasure it by gently carrying it around and then try to play tug-of-war with anyone who will play with me. Secondly, although I was house trained, she noticed that my manners were lacking. Other dogs and people get me excited, and since I don't understand my size yet, she needed to teach me that jumping on others when I'm excited is NOT how to play. Also, although I love going on walks with Foster Mom, I'd never been trained to walk on a leash. I've been learning obedience and am in the process of perfecting my leash-walking. In addition, after a month, she's easily taught me simple commands like 'sit,' 'down,' and 'shake,' and I'm eager to learn more! Now I'm ready to find my forever family. Although I'll make a gentle family pet and a great house dog, for my physical and mental well-being, I'll need an active family who'll spend some time with me in their fenced yard or walking/ jogging with me. Even more ideal would be access to a dog park where I can play with other dogs and really stretch out my legs running and playing Frisbee. My brain is always working, so it's important for me to find a family who will stay consistent, patient, and firm as they continue to teach me manners, leash-walking, commands, and tricks. The good news is that I'm very treat-motivated. I'm making a lot of progress, but until I'm a complete gentleman, it'd probably be best for me to join a family with older kids and patient dogs who will tolerate a still-goofy 'wild child' like me. Oh, by the way, make sure to keep anything edible or chewable, i.e. treats, cords, shoes, out of my range. Arrange to meet me today. We'll go together like peanut butter and jelly. And boy, howdy, do I love peanut butter. Coal is updated on shots, neutered, dewormed, heartworm negative, and microchipped. His adoption fee is $250 for dogs older than 9 months. An application must be filled out prior to adoption.

Harris County
Houston, Texas 77057


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Good with Kids and Adults


  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.