Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

Big MamaRescue Me ID: 23-06-13-00375

No longer available

About Big Mama

Adoption Fee: $50
German Shepherd mix
Age: Adult
Sex: Female

$50 Adoption fee! Big Mama was very happy to see people after being on her own for a while after her owner passed away. She is ok meeting new dogs and being around them but I'm sure she would be very happy in a home of her own or with other dogs her age and activity level. She could really benefit from a weight loss program as I'm sure her weight is affecting her joints. She can still move fast and can keep up with short runs. Big Mama really loves being outside and exploring new areas and new smells. She loves being around her people and is very friendly meeting new people. Intake date: 5/20/23 From: Konnowac Pass, owner passed away Microchip: none Dog's name: Big Mama Breed: shepherd Age: 7-10 Gender: F Spayed: yes Size: Extra Large Height: 23 Weight: 110 Coat: Medium Description: black/tan Nose: Clear Eyes: Clear Ears: Clean Missing fur: No Exposure to dogs: 2 adult females, several adult males Introductions to dogs: curious, sniffing, will growl if they are too hyper and in her face. She's been roommates with several dogs and enjoys the companionship. Interactions with Dogs: likes to have a roommate and be in the house with other dogs around her, but doesn't like to wrestle, will run with other dogs, likes to lay down and sleep near other dogs but doesn't want to cuddle with them. Foster friends with: Marli and Sadie (my dogs), Rusty, Ditch, Bailey, Bear, Scout, Chance Exposure to cats: 2 adult female cats Interactions with Cats: very curious, very excited, non-aggressive, sniffing, tail wagging, some barking. I think she would chase them if given the opportunity. I always recommend on leash, slow introductions to cats so behavior can be corrected right away. Exposure to children: babies on up Recommendation for children: I would trust her with children of all ages. Housetrained: Yes Uses doggie door Crate trained: Unknown Marks: Yes Outdoors Traveling in a car: does just fine, no issues Activity Level: Low/Medium, Spends time both inside and out, outside fenced yard 6 foot chain-link Leash trained: Yes Does OK Behavior on leash: pulls at first, then calms down and walks nicely, is excited to smell everything, using Cesar Millan leash training techniques Commands: Sit, Lay down, Come Here Recall: pretty good Trim nails: Yes Brush: Yes Bathe: Haven't Tried Any Area You Cannot Touch: No Bad habits: None Known Anxiety Issues: None Known Food Possession/Aggression issues: Possession, doesn't like other dogs near her food bowl, Fed together with other dogs Takes Treats: gentle/nicely Personality traits: Friendly to Everyone, loves to play in water, Likes to be hugged, Gives kisses, Quiet, Seldom Barks, Offers belly to be scratched, Loves attention by everyone, Loving, Can pick up and hold/hug, Cuddler, can kiss on face, can grab/ hold/ bear hug, loves just being around her people Any known medical issues/allergies: none known, but I think her weight is hurting her hips Injuries: none known Vaccination date: 6/12/23 Rabies: unknown Dewormer date: 6/12/23 flea tick date: 6/5/23 Other medical info: needs to lose weight Pics and videos (you may have to copy and paste into a new tab):

Yakima County
Selah, Washington


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Good with Most Cats
  • Good with Kids and Adults


  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament


  • Spayed
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.