Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

HossRescue Me ID: 23-05-16-00172

No longer available

About Hoss

Adoption Fee: $120
Lab / Mastiff
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Male

Meet Hoss: 110 lbs of pure love! Hoss is a super friendly and mostly smart dog who is absolutely great with kids. He joined our family at 2 years old in 2020 from the SPCA of Wake County and we found he knew a few commands already: he will (generally, if not too excited) sit on command with a hand signal and will happily shake at nearly any time! Between the size and brindle coloring, our best guess is that Hoss is a mix of a Mastiff and a black Labrador While he is a very large dog, Hoss seems to think he is much smaller: he tries to find ways to cuddle with people who are receptive. With that said, he's also very well behaved as he respects our rules about staying off of furniture, staying out of particular rooms, not going up stairs, etc. He is crate trained and very responsible about asking to go out when needed. Despite the mentions of his excitement (most often when visitors are present), he is very respectful and does not jump or put his paws on people. Most notably, Hoss is absolutely tremendous with children. We have four ranging in age from 8 down to our 2-year-old twins. We've had Hoss since before the twins and he has been absolutely great with them: the only thing they seem to dislike about him is that he has at times bumped them with his tail (see aforementioned excitement!). Hoss is not terribly socialized with other animals as we live on a large property and haven't taken him to dog parks or the like. He is comfortable enough when being nearby our livestock guardian dogs (they bark at him, he just stands and looks at them). He gets very excited seeing other dogs when going to the vet, for example, but it's hard to know if that's about the other dogs or just the excitement of the car ride and being away from the house. If Hoss is so great, why are we looking for a new home for Hoss? This is the question I'd be asking for sure. In our case, we're finding more and more that our house is simply too small for such a big hunk of love. With the aforementioned four kids running around and constantly growing and the house not getting any larger, we've made the hard decision to try to find a new loving home for Hoss. We have a good collection of related gear that we'd be happy to give along with Hoss: a large crate, dog bed, leash, Thundershirt, etc. We also have a fair amount of flea/tick and heartworm medicine (we tend to buy in bulk). Hoss was heartworm positive when we adopted him and we had him treated. He remains heartworm negative as of his last check when he visited the vet in early May 2023. He is up-to-date on all shots as of that visit. Hoss has no history of biting anyone.

Stokes County
King, North Carolina


  • Good with Kids and Adults


  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.