Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

BROWNIEAnimal ID: 601356081

No longer available


Adoption Fee: $375
Lab / American Staffordshire Terrier
Age: Adult
Sex: Male

MEET BROWNIE! Brownie has been enjoying the safety and care for some time now at the home of the founder of here on Orcas Island, WA -but in confidence, he told me recently why there is no home for him - yet. He would really like to have his own home with HIS Human{s). So, what are you waiting for- I know YOU are out there! I am a neutered Lab/ American Staffordshire mix, and about 7-8 yrs. old. As weight I will bring 48lbs to the scale. I am up to date with vaccinations, healthy, neutered, and microchipped. I do not have health issues. I have been living and interacting with other dogs (males and females), and I am used to be around cats, but if I could choose my best next friend then I think a playful and energetic female would hit my spot. My personality is shy and reluctant but an active female who runs the show - I think I can fall for that idea! :) I came from an abusive home where I was reprimanded already as a young dog or puppy - physically and was yelled at a lot - and from an early age on. Fear is still on my side. Hence still now sometimes it can happen that I fall into the fear/flee mood when a situation that I am going through now reminds me of my earlier years. As a puppy I was kept mostly in a dark shed, when the door opened - I just ran out. But then, when it got scary for me, I ran back into that dark place just to feel safe again. What effect is has on me still, you might ask...well, where I have been living now here, I feel comfortable so I would find my way back home. On the other hand, if I ran away though in an area that I do not know, I would feel lost and I would not find a home by myself. I would not react to anyone calling my name and searching for me- I would hide and eventually not survive. I do not ask for a lot of exercise and hour-long walks, but frequent walks would be nice, and a solid fenced yard where I can see the other side of the fence would be nice, too. I am not a city dog, nor a high-rise apartment dog. If you need to know more stories about me, and background info or videos, the founder of would be so happy to share those with you on request. If you are interested, PLEASE send an email to: [email protected] (this is the email address) so that the founder of can connect with you via a phone call. WOOFLY, Brownie April 2023

San Juan County
Eastsound, Washington 98245


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Good with Most Cats
  • Good with Adults (Not Kids)


  • Average Energy
  • Very Submissive


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.