Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

StellaRescue Me ID: 22-11-15-00114

No longer available

About Stella

Adoption Fee: $100
Belgian Malinois / Dutch Shepherd
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Female

Stella is a 4 yr old Belgian Malinois/ Dutch Shepherd mix. She is a well trained and eager to learn young lady. Stella does well in the house and prefers to be indoors with people. She is a bit of a princess, so would not do well in a kennel or outdoors. Her house manners are impeccable and she does not have separation anxiety. So long as she gets to run or go for a long walk several times per week, she is calm and relaxed in the home. Sometimes if I work several long days in a row, she will find things in the house and leave them for me. This could be a slipper or a skein of yarn. It is never chewed up, and I'm certain it's her reminding me she is craving attention. Stella has excellent recall and a surprisingly low prey drive. She always keeps the people she is with in her sight. If she sees people up ahead, she runs back to me to be leashed. She does not like confrontation and feels safer on a leash if people are around. She is by far the most obedient and responsive dog I have ever owned. She aims to please and always wants to learn new tricks. Sadly, I am rehoming her due to her increasingly protective nature towards me. She will no longer allow others in the home, besides those she's known for long periods. She will attempt to nip and bite even after they have been properly introduced. This is mainly directed towards males, but also towards my 80 yr old tiny mother. She is uncomfortable with new situations and has a bit of anxiety with loud noises (I.e gunshots and fireworks). I am amazed at how she attempts to overcome these anxieties by slowly exposing herself. I have worked with her a lot in these areas. Stella needs a strong but gentle owner that would be willing to work with her. She wants a job to do and unfortunately I feel that this reactivity towards strangers has become her job. Incidentally, she stayed with my son for a few days. She did great with their dog and was scared of the cat. I know she will be a good addition to an individual who is willing and able to work with her through her issues. Please feel free to contact me with any questions. My ultimate goal is to find a good fit for her.

Teller County
Woodland Park, Colorado


  • Good with Most Dogs


  • Average Energy
  • Submissive


  • Spayed
  • Vaccinations Current
  • Aggressive
  • Fearful/Anxious

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.