Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

DaveRescue Me ID: 22-11-10-00380

No longer available

About Dave

Adoption Fee: $350
Australian Cattle Dog mix
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Male

Hey guys! My name is Dave and I am a 2 year old, male Red Heeler-Cattledog mix and I weigh about 45 lbs. I was rescued from the Riverside Shelter and brought to my wonderful foster home! I learned a whole lot and I am progressing rapidly. I am potty trained and have learned to be myself at home all day without showing signs of anxiety or destructiveness. I am learning how to heal on walks and am very motivated and highly trainable. I am also neutered! I struggle when meeting new people and show my fearfulness through loud barking. However, with a 5-10 minute structured introduction, I can make fast friends and remember people really well (even if I haven't seen them in a few months!) I am not great with on leash dog meetings and I do much better when I meet dogs off-leash. I definitely need help with leash reactivity and have been working on my training and homework and I am muzzle trained to make all of these interactions as safe and possible. I am a very energetic young boy who thrives on activity, stimulation and lots of treats! Structure and routine help me a lot, and I am a super fast learner. I do like being the center of attention, and really require an experienced dog owner who knows the quirks of herding breeds.%A0 No cats for me:) I haven't interacted with kids yet, and I'm still a rambunctious young man who can get mouthy. I enjoy heavy, rubber toys, and am generally nice to soft toys. I have not shown any signs of chewing on things that aren't toys.%A0 I'm affectionate and in true Heeler fashion I may nibble from time to time, but that is calming down too. I really like to play fetch and I think I would love the frisbee! Once tuckered out, I love to cuddle! But I am also very good about going to my own doggie bed after getting my snuggle time. I'm even comfortable with car rides and will willingly stay in the back compartment. Meeting new people makes me nervous, so I'd appreciate some time to warm up, or to go in my safe area. My foster folks think that I am going to make a lucky active pet parent VERY happy! I would be the perfect hiking/adventure/beach companion to someone. I am making great progress on being trained, exposure to doggy friend, and their owners. I could be the only dog in the house, and would get along with a non-pushy male. My adoption fee is $350 and that includes spaying/neutering, shots, and microchip. If you want to take me home, please fill out the form on the website here:

San Diego County
La Mesa, California 91941


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Not Good with Cats
  • Good with Adults (Not Kids)


  • High Energy
  • Somewhat Dominant


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.