MarleyRescue Me ID: 22-10-06-00181

About Marley

Pit Bull mix
Age: Adult
Sex: Male

Hi! My name is Marley and I'm a 7-years old boy from Franklin, MA in need of a forever home. I'm a big guy who gives big hugs and my pittie mix heritage is my assurance to you that I'm a loyal companion. I'm fully housetrained and trustworthy to roam the house when left alone. My current humans adopted me after a rough start in life. They love me very much, but it turns out their home environment is too overwhelming. (Whoever invented teenagers needs to go back to the drawing board.) I talked to my veterinarian about this and he agrees that a calmer, adult-only home is best. Let me tell you about myself since this is a big decision for you. I like doing my zoomies because they make people happy. In return I'll take a belly rub, or two, or three•À%BD'•À%BD|My mission during the day is to claim the sunniest spot in the house for my all-important nap sessions. I cannot pass up a blanket to wrap myself in. My new house must be equipped with blankies and pillows! Once I am rested, I enjoy playing with balls - any type will do. I like to show off how I leap in the air and use my paws to catch the ball. Not many hunky monkey dogs like me can do that! To be honest, do not expect me to bring the balls back very often. I may look goofy, but I'm no blockhead. I can do basic cues and have also learned a few tricks such as 'get behind,' 'not yours' (even when it really is mine), 'high five,' and 'front.' I can pick up new tricks quickly since pleasing my people is very important to me. I am a great walker who likes to sightsee and smell-see. I am so happy when it's time to put my harness on. I also enjoy hikes and dipping my paws in water. I have many good qualities but I am an anxious dog because of the horrible life I had before my current family adopted me. You see, I was the subject of an animal abuse case and had to stay in a shelter for a very long time while it was all sorted out. Soon after my adoption, I realized I couldn't handle a busy household. Recently I started medication and I feel much better, though I am most comfortable when it's just me and my people in the house. I get startled by sudden things like the doorbell or when someone walks up from behind me. I have been working on both of these scenarios and I am getting better because of my helpful trainer. I need a patient and experienced person to keep me on the right path and to make a trainer and veterinarian a part of Team Marley. I get along with other dogs or I can be the only pet. No children or cats. Message from the humans: Marley takes issue with people around his food. As a new adoptee, both kids in the home were bit (not seriously) on the hand when food was involved. Marley should be left alone to eat in peace, away from people and other animals. I truly am a sweet boy. I hope you agree! (I wouldn't lie!) Please apply to adopt me at Love, Marley xo #ARKforMarley #JustSaveThem


Animal Rescue Konnection (ARK)
Essex County
Gloucester, Massachusetts 01930



  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Not Good with Cats
  • Good with Adults (Not Kids)


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

View Map

Send message

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.