Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

RoryRescue Me ID: 21-12-12-00226

No longer available

About Rory

Adoption Fee: 0
Chow Chow / German Shepherd
Age: Adult
Sex: Male

My name is Rory and I'm currently located with a trainer in Marshall, VA. Before that I was in a foster after my owner had to surrender me due to a change in his living situation. I'm a mixed breed, possibly with chow or german shepherd. I'm approx. 6 years old and need a family with experience in dogs with anxiety/trust issues - that's why I'm with the behavioralist/trainer! The great thing is he will be able to help me transition into my new home! I really am a loyal pup, I just have to learn to trust you! You can see more videos of me from the trainer: View video on YouTube: Let me tell you a bit more about myself! OVERVIEW: I am in search of a very specific, patient family who can really let me become part of the pack. When I first go into a new place, I need a safe space to call my own. I'm a very cautious dog and prefer to do things at my own pace. I need structure but am super willing to be obedient! I have a lot of quirks but I pawmise if you are patient with me I can show you that I am a pretty special guy! BACKGROUND: I was rescued off of the streets of Sarajevo, Bosnia in 2015. I lived in Germany with my first family for several years before moving to North Carolina. I was then with a foster family in Virginia from Jan-May, and have been with the trainer doing a 4-week board-and-train program.. I've been doing so well with my anxiety issues that I'm ready to start looking for a new home! My life in Bosnia was all about surviving on the streets and in makeshift shelters. I was around mean people, loud noises, and other 'ruff' situations, so I come with some 'battle scars' that I hope won't deter you. COMPATIBILITY: Dogs: I've really enjoyed being around my foster family's dogs, and the 8-10 dogs at the behaviorists kennels. It takes me a few days to warm up to other dogs, but then it's all about playtime! Cats: My foster home had two cats and I don't mind them at all. We just walk past each other! Sometimes they startle me if I'm sleeping so I might give them a small growl but I certainly don't hurt them. Kids: I've been around the trainer's teenager and some kids at the pet store and have been ok. PLAYFULNESS: I have become super playful with my foster family and bounce up and down when they come home! I'm also a big fan of snow and sweater weather and can't wait to snuggle with my furever family! It takes me a while to warm up to strangers though, but I'm working on that. ANXIETY: I tend to pace around and pant at night, and then sometimes I need my space and you might find me curled up in a small dark corner. WRAP-UP: If you'd like to meet me or ask specific questions, please contact my foster mom - and please give me a chance!

Loudoun County
Troy, North Carolina 22974


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Good with Most Cats
  • Good with Kids and Adults


  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.