BobRescue Me ID: 21-09-16-00323

About Bob

Adoption Fee: $500
Pit Bull / Bulldog
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Male

Bob's a rescue from Texas. I've had him since June 2020. He was extremely challenging to home as he was 2 at the time, and had a rough puppyhood of neglect and mistreatment in Texas prior to arriving at a kill shelter where I rescued him from via a rescue service. However, after a bit more than a year, he's doing very well. He loves having a schedule. I've had him on-leash at all times outside as my yard's not fenced, and we do walks with him on leash as well. Its a 25 ft retracting type leash so he can have some free run to explore a bit. We walk 3 to 4 times a day about 1 - 2 miles or more per walk and its rural here so he can sniff and smell and poop and have fun. I have 2 mature cats and it took about 3 months of slow introduction work for them to become friends. Now they're very close and give each other rubs and kisses. Luckily I have a basement that Bob stayed out of where the cats hid out for a while until they all became friends. Bob's just under 100 lbs and very strong. I don't have any experience with Bob around small children. All of my kids are over 18 and he does wonderful. He loves Women much more than Men for some reason. He's never shown any aggression towards humans at all (known or strangers) except what I describe below in 'What does Bob struggle with' section. He's a loving dog that enjoys being on the couch when we watch movies or TV. He has his own dog beds (living room, my bedroom) and he sleeps on his dog beds at night, but my daughter (18) lets him sleep on her bed so its up to his new home how they handle that. He crated very well when I first adopted him, but for the past 7 months he's had free range of the house. He does not eat things at the house, no shoes or wood or walls, he even leaves the cat toys alone He loves to play ball with a tennis sized bouncy ball, he's a total goofball and he's funny to watch as he plays and chases. It seemed like I had to teach him how to play, he wasn't sure how to do that at first when he got here. Bob's grown used to me being home most of the time. I think he needs to be with his human as much as possible. He'd not do well with an owner who crates him everyday for several hours or is away every day for long periods of time. Though he has no real separation anxiety, he does love to go for rides in the car and be with his human. What does Bob struggle with? - if you walk him in an area where cars are slowly driving by (less than 10 mph) or pulling out of driveways, that triggers him for some reason and he's very difficult to manage, and can get aggressive when restrained. - when he encounters other dogs, he has no social skills and his play quickly becomes aggressive to other dogs - I've heard this is natural for the breed (Pittys). - I've not been able to board him due to being turned away because of his aggression towards other dogs and inability to socialize in dog groups. Why am I rehoming him? - I expected that I would be able to board him very occasionally as I have to travel for work 3 - 5 times per year but I have not been able to do so and I mostly live alone so I don't have anyone to help me watch him when I'm away. It's become a real problem for me that I can't get him over the barrier to being able to board.

Contact

King County
Ravensdale, Washington

Contact Person:
Scott Burkhalter

Email

Compatibility

  • Not Good with Other Dogs
  • Not Good with Cats
  • Good with Adults (Not Kids)

Personality

  • Average Energy
  • Somewhat Dominant

Health

  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current
  • Aggressive

View Map

Send message

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.