Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

RockieAnimal ID: 2671

No longer available

About Rockie

Adoption Fee: $350
Australian Shepherd
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Male

Hello my name is Rockie and I have a lot of love to give the right family. I am a 3 year 18 pound toy Aussie that has had a difficult start to life. I am in need of a specific family as I am so afraid of men. I love walks, playing fetch, cuddling, giving kisses and spooning with other dogs. I was relinquished pre-Covid lockdown and spent 6 months with my foster family learning how to be a good boy as my first family did not teach me or socialize me. I then thought I had found a forever family but, unfortunately, even though they loved me, it did not work out. I am currently back with my first foster family and I have come such a long way from the perpetually scared under-socialized pup that I was last March. I see the world through the eyes of the little dog that I am. I need a family that is quiet-I do not do well when overstimulated. I have gotten better with my fear of men but would really prefer a family that understands this fear. I do love to spoon with my foster brothers but would probably be ok as a single dog if I could play fetch and was not left alone for long periods. I do not chew up or destroy things (ok maybe I do love to chew out the stuffing on stuffies, but who doesn't). Learning to play fetch was my favorite thing and it makes me so proud of myself when I can beat my foster brother to the ball. My foster family wants me to mention that I do have some quirks. I do like to bark (I blame it on my foster sister, she likes to start it). I have gotten better about walking when there are other dogs around and I learned to not ping-pong bounce at the end of the leash and now I get to go on more walks. I panic in kennels still but I do ok if I have to be confined behind a baby gate. I do sometimes want everything to be mine and since I was neutered late I do occasionally make bad choices and mark in the house. So, if my foster family is not around I do have to wear a potty band-it is humiliating but I just cannot help myself sometimes. My foster family says I have gotten so much better but they also say I have a 'bird brain' that sometimes makes me think I have to say 'this is mine'. I have been on anti-anxiety medications for the last year and they have really helped me be able to learn, so I am not sure if I will need them forever. If you think you might be the right family for me I would love to have my own furever family. If you're interested in Rockie please message Colorado Rep Melissa at [email protected] or call text at 719-221-1950. Home check and adoption fee required. Here is the link to the application: All adoption fees are used for future rescue efforts.

Arapahoe County
Littleton, Colorado 80127


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Good with Adult Women Only


  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.