Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

PoppyRescue Me ID: 21-06-12-00448

No longer available

About Poppy

German Shepherd / Pit Bull
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Female

This sweet, goofy, loyal girl is looking for a forever home. Poppy loves to sunbathe, learn new tricks, run, bikejor, and play with her squeaky toys. She is super smart and can run all day with you, but will also sleep all day while you work from home. She is ready to go on a hike at 5am or will let you sleep in and play quietly with her toys and chew on her bones. She is a very loyal companion and just wants to be by her family's side. She would do great with someone working from home full time that would be active with her on the weekends, or has a big yard for her to explore. She is great with most people but hesitant of children and men she doesn't know. If she's given some time and space to warm up, she will come around and demand belly rubs. She would do fine with older children that are respectful of her boundaries, but no young children. When strangers visit and she is overwhelmed, she goes straight to her crate and will rest there. She is largely neutral towards other dogs but sometimes likes to play and chase. She would do well with other dogs in the home as long as they are introduced and given some time to get used to each other. She'd do great as an only dog as well, or with dog-savvy cats. She has been sweet with our foster kittens and older cat. On walks, she is not leash reactive at all. She walks well on a leash, but will occasionally lunge towards a lizard. Though she has never attempted to bite, she is muzzle trained just in case and will eagerly put her face in a muzzle for the vet because she knows muzzle = treats! She is about 3 years old, spayed, microchipped and up-to-date on vaccinations. Poppy barks at the doorbell, but is otherwise pretty quiet. Poppy's main struggle is separation anxiety. She was saved from a hoarding situation when she was young, and now she likes her people close by. She needs to be with someone that is home most of the time and willing to take her places. (She loves car rides!) Though it's possible that with training, her anxiety will get better, it also may not. She needs to be with a family that will commit to her even if she does not improve in that area. She also has mild IBD, so her diet may need some tinkering, but she loves food so it's easy to change her food around as needed. She has good house manners and loves to nap on the couch with you. She also knows so many tricks! She has her novice, intermediate, and advanced trick dog AKC titles, and we're working on a virtual obedience title right now. She even knows how to file her nails down on a scratchboard. She's definitely a people pleaser and always happy to see you. When she gets excited, she'll bring you one of her toys and wag her tail so hard she hits herself with it! For the right home, she will be a fantastic companion and her goofy personality will put a smile on your face. Homes anywhere on the west coast will be considered.

Orange County
TUSTIN, California


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Not Good with Cats
  • Good with Adults (Not Kids)


  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament


  • Spayed
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.