GarthAnimal ID: 54

About Garth

Adoption Fee: $300
Chihuahua mix
Age: Adult
Sex: Male

Hi! My name is Garth. I'm sometimes called Garth-a-mus. I was rescued after I was found abandoned in an apartment with another small dog. For whatever reason, though we got along great, she was happy go lucky and I actually have some anxiety left from the experience. Because of that, I'm a happy go lucky guy when I am able to be independent. I'm more of a let's hang out as pals kind of dog, rather than a lap lover or cuddler. I'm perfectly happy to follow you around, watch what you are doing, and going on outings like buddies. I am looking for a forever home with an experienced family. This is an absolute must. Because my past is unknown we don't really know why I have a few issues but I really don't like to be picked up. I really want to work to be okay with it but I just really struggle with it so I am an all 4 on the floor kinda dog, just like big dogs are. Speaking of dogs, I like to play with other dogs my size and would do well in a home with them but I can also be on my own as well. While I enjoy spending quality time with my people friends, I am also content to spend time on my own as I have an independent spirit. Even though I do get along with others, due to my size, age, personality, and anxiety, I would do best in a home without children. My foster parents have helped me to learn manners or what we call 'Petiquette' and how to be calm though I still sometimes have trouble controlling my excitement and impulses. When socializing I have a hard time with new people so I will need someone who is willing to let others know that I am your buddy, but not everyone's buddy if you know what I mean. I know basic commands and I 'sit pretty' to get my meals. I love to go on walks but I am still working on how a harness feels. With the right one, I do great though! I am also crate trained and love to have my personal space. Oh, and I also love to jump and dance when I achieve something I'm a bit nervous about. My favorite words to hear are 'YOU DID IT!' :) If you think we may be a good match, or you would like to get to know me better, please complete an application at PS: My vaccinations are up to date, I am microchipped & neutered, and my teeth have been cleaned :) Due to home introductions that are part of the adoption process, we can only accept applications for interested parties who are in or near San Diego County, California at this time.


San Diego County
Vista, California

Small Breed Rescue Of California: 7604567360

Call Now Email


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Good with Adults (Not Kids)


  • Average Energy
  • Somewhat Dominant


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

View Map

Send message

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.