Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

Lovely LillyRescue Me ID: 21-05-12-00307

No longer available

About Lovely Lilly

Adoption Fee: $65
Lab / Border Collie
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Female

My name is Lilly, I used to live in Shepherdsville with a pack of outside-only dogs. There I just kept getting pregnant (all pups from my THIRD litter were recently adopted out!). -Until I was rescued, I was basically feral. I loved being a mommy, but am glad to be done with pup-rearing, and eager to become part of someone's family. I love people in general (even though I bark at new ppl at first), all kids (I don't bark at kids at all, and love my 7 yr old boy here at my foster home), am good with other dogs, cats I know, and birds. And I wag my tail A LOT! That's how I show you I'm happy, even if I don't let you pet me (yet). I WANT to be loved on and petted, I just don't know 'how' to let people pet me yet... so I wag my tail, kiss your hand, and then back up. Don't take it personal, it took me 2 weeks to let my foster mommy pet me. Now, after 6 weeks I let her pet me at least 2 times a day! I've even learned to enjoy being in her mudroom, but hanging out inside the house is still too overwhelming for me, but I could get used to being inside too eventually, with the right family. I go potty only in the grassy area behind the garage here at my foster's, I bark only to alert if someone comes around the house, and I don't want to run off even when the gate is open for the car to come or go... I'm a very good girl that won't give you any trouble. All you need to make it work with me is a lot of patience, and to not be 'in a hurry' for me to let you pet me, or for me to come inside... I promise I'll learn these things, with patience and time! Other dogs make me feel comfortable but I'm happy hanging out on my own too. My 'ideal life' would involve living on some acreage, where I can roam around, and help protect your property and family from any prowlers, or even any big mean tom cats! That being said I'd love a regular house with a yard in the city too! Love, Lilly Note: Prior to rescue Lilly had never been in a house, on a leash, or bathed. She's 2 years old and weighs 5 lbs. She has made a lot of progress at our home. That being said, Lilly's best suited for farm and/or rural living. She's used to being outdoors, an arm's length or more from humans. She'd lay down her life for her family, her pack, without thinking twice- of this I'm sure. Lilly is very loyal and street savvy. She doesn't like car rides or being leashed at all... these are a couple of the reasons she'd do best in a home with some land, or at least a yard. Please know: Lilly has had 2 solid meet and greets over the past several weeks. Both people chose not to adopt her. :( ...It can be hard to bond with a dog like Lilly at first. Lilly is sweet, loving, smart, and an 'easy dog.' But she will want to stay outdoors only at first, and will have to work her way into going indoors. She wants to, and she will get there, but it will take time. Lilly has started playing with our 2 yr old dog Benny daily (she's good with all dogs, but didn't really know how to 'play' until recently). She's even playing with dog toys some too now! -Updated 5-11-21

Jefferson County
Louisville, Kentucky 40213

Compatibility

  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Good with Most Cats
  • Good with Kids and Adults

Personality

  • Average Energy
  • Very Submissive

Health

  • Spayed
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.