Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

HowieRescue Me ID: 21-01-14-00252

No longer available

About Howie

Adoption Fee: $450
Australian Shepherd / Chow Chow
Age: Adult
Sex: Male

Hi there! I'm Howie and I'm a 6 year old, 50 lb Aussie Shepherd/Chow mix. My human dad passed away and I spent 6 months in the shelter before the HIT Living brought me in. I am an incredibly sweet, smart, loyal, sensitive and loving boy looking to spend the rest of my life with my forever person or family!!! - I am the BEST doggo: loyal, loving, affectionate, mild mannered, obedient and friendly! - My foster mom believes that my previous owner who passed, was connected to machines that beeped and I am forever traumatized by that. Every time something beeps whether it be a rice cooker, oven, or the laundry machine, I cry or bark. To calm me down, my foster mom calls me over, hugs me like a little baby and I cry in her arms while she tells me its ok. I then forget what just happened because I'm so glad to be getting pets and move on with my life! - I can be completely trusted when left alone! When my foster mom has to leave me, all of my foster siblings go in crates except for me because I'm the best boy that doesn't chew or get into anything. I take a nap or work for hours to get that peanut butter out of that red thing, and it's all I need :) - The brown tears under my eyes are getting better! I've been switched to a grain free diet and while theċ%A0tearċ%A0stains haven't fully gone away, they get better every week! The probiotics seem to be helping too! I will need to be on probiotics for the rest of my life which is a low cost my foster mom says! Don't let those tears keep you from swiping next, I am handsome and when I look up for a treat I look like a puppy teddy bear!!! - I am an excellent sleeper and sleep on a dog bed next to my foster moms bed. I also do not jump on any furniture like my crazy foster siblings do, unless invited of course! - My favorite things to do are go for walks, get pets (I'm still uncertain about belly rubs but behind my ears and my butt are my sweet spots, I also love nose kisses) chew on antlers, and just be by my person. I also love to walk right in-between my human's knees and wait for all the back and butt scratches they give me! - I love car rides and if it weren't too extreme, my foster thinks I would be a great camping dog! - I have one hind hip that is smaller than the other and that limits me to walks only (and who doesn't love a good walk on the beach!). While I may never be able to handle hikes or jogs, I LOVE walks and my foster mom says I walk very well on a leash! I also know all my basic commands and am fully house trained. - I have foster siblings big and small and get along with them all. While I go to the dog park and doggie day care sometimes with my foster siblings (I mostly tend to keep to myself in these places), I would be ok with being an only dog but would also get along great with another adult dog that won't bug me too much.ċ%A0 - Something must have happened to me when I was a little pup because I do NOT like being surprised from behind. Whether someone starts petting me from behind or brushing me without me knowing they are there, I can get really startled and snap back. That being said, I would do best in a home with no children ages 0 - 16 as they can be unpredictable, and whoever adopts me just needs to know to let me know they are there before touching me :) - Due to my Chow nature, I can be a bit mouthy when I get excited. A lot of people would mistake this for biting, but I would never bite too hard. That is just really how I express my excitement! - At my current foster home I go on 2 walks a day, to the dog park 3 days a week. Despite the disability with my hip, I live an active lifestyle and would like to remain as active as I am now, even if that's multiple walks per day! - My ideal is home is with one or two adults that live an easy lifestyle, have another mellow, adult dog or no other dogs, (or cats, I get really excited around cats and for some reason, they're not as excited to see me), no young children, and a home where humans are around for most of the day or one where I can be brought to work. I do great meeting adult strangers and would make a great work dog as I would need a few potty breaks but happy to be laying by my person's feet as they work. - I have been with my foster mom and dad for so long now, I would prefer time to get to know someone by having a few dates before I make the commitment for a full sleep over. If you're patient and up for dating before we make it official, our love could last the rest of my lifetime!!! If you see me online I am still available for adoption! If you are interested in adopting me please fill out an application here:, and email a video walkthrough of your home and yard to [email protected] Your application will not be counted as valid without your video. You will hear back from us within a few days.

Los Angeles County
Los Angeles, California


  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.