Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

HayleyRescue Me ID: 20-11-19-00167

No longer available

About Hayley

Adoption Fee: $250
Dachshund / Chihuahua
Age: Adult
Sex: Female

*** Hayley went for a visit at a home much like what she has been used to for all of her six years but where it is easier for her to get outside and where she cannot get into cat food and gets more focused exercise. It appears she will be staying and the post will be removed when finalized. There were so many responses to Hayley that assumed she could adapt to any new situation or type of setting and with expectations that would make failure easy and success questionable, with blame easily placed on her. She can get out the door easily in her new home and has not had any accidents. If you have a lot of stairs or long passages, please adopt a dog that has legs for that environment. If you live near any traffic please install safe fencing before seeking an outdoor pet. Please be willing to adapt to the dog whom you do not know will want to sit in cafes or go camping; you may have to adjust your lifestyle or else look for a dog that already does those things. Thank you for taking steps towards becoming a responsible pet owner. *** DESCRIPTION: Hayley is a riot! This wiggly goof ball is full of joy! She is a six years old mix of dachshund, chihuahua, and mini beagle. Her kids have grown and are mostly out of the house. While she has a loving family, she is not getting the same kind of attention and would adore kids to play with or someone who dotes on her all the day! Hayley is a real handful, but she is gentle with toddlers. She would like to have a home with a yard where she can run around outside like she has always been used to doing. She lives with two cats she completely loves but the down side is that she also loves stealing their food. So while she is supposed to weigh about 18 pounds she is 5 over at 23. She would do best in a home where she is the only pet or where the food can be reliably separated. Losing a little weight would help her get up and down stairs better on her short stubby dox legs! Please be sure to review resources on pet ramps, as Hayley was not specifically built for a human-stride world ( There are a lot of good images available also for ideas. She does great in car rides around town and loves being taken on walks. She could surely do well with more focused exercise. She comes with a kennel, food dishes, leash, collar, vet records, and costumes. Yes, costumes! (( When responding, please tell (1) Where are you located? Due to pandemic winter, please realize the owner needs to search within about 1 - 2 hours of home. What is your home like? Will there be stairs? Is there a yard? And if so, is it fenced? Are you able to adapt your home to her stubby legs, such as with ramps or stools or smaller steps? If you are planning to put up fencing in the future, why have you not done it before looking to adopt a dog? (2) Who lives in the household? Are there children? Who will spend time with Hayley? Are there other pets? Can you separate their food effectively? (3) What will your lifestyle be like after the pandemic ends? (4) Do you have experience with dogs? Do you realize Hayley is a 'project dog' and you will not know her true self within a week or two? Why do you want Hayley to join your family? Are you up to the commitment it will take to make your home navigable or her, and to her weight loss and fitness journey? (5) Will you be able to come to the Charlottesville area to meet Hayley and see how you get along? Can the whole family come? Will you allow a house visit? (6) Do you own your home or rent? If you rent, can you provide the animal policy and approval of the management? If you even have to move, what will happen to Hayley? (7) Anything else that is relevant!)) Please note that we can only tell you how Hayley has been based on the life she has lived, and cannot conjecture how she will respond to new situations, as we are not dog experts. Please be willing to contact a pro dog trainer if you want to better predict how she will adapt to your lifestyle, such as being taken on long road trips or visits to cafes or even staying off the couch. You may also need to make modifications to your home such as to protect her from cars or to help her get outside ... she may need some time to lose weight and she will always have small legs. This posting has gotten longer due to the number of frivolous replies. Please be serious about having your home ready for Hayley and the commitment of adopting a 'project dog!' ***IF YOU BELIEVE YOU DID NOT RECEIVE A RESPONSE PLEASE CHECK SPAM***

Albemarle County
Keswick, Virginia 22947


  • Good with Kids and Adults


  • Average Energy
  • Submissive


  • Spayed
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.