JoeyAnimal ID: A683115

About Joey

Pit Bull mix
Age: Puppy
Sex: Male

H-hello there, m-my name is Joey. The hoomans have been asking me to do an 'About Me' for a while now so here it goes. I originally arrived at the shelter in September 2019 with my sister who has since got herself 'dopted. I am a graduate of the Decompression Program at PACC which is for shy and fearful dogs like me. Although I have graduated I still have a lot to learn and have a long way to go in terms of socialization. I have been in my current foster home for many months and would love to finally find my furever. Don't get me wrong, I love my foster family and have learned a lot from them but I really need another pupper who will play with me and continue to teach me how to dog. I am a very sweet guy. I absolutely LOVE other dogs and am very good at playing with everyone, no matter their size! I am housetrained although I will probably need a refresher course in my new home. I'm not destructive if you give me some toys to chew on, so please don't lock me in a crate. I'm not motivated by food and prefer to eat and drink when you're not watching me, especially inside. One of my favorite indoor activities is sitting on the sofa and napping. I also enjoy taking a ride in the car. While I can be very skittish, shy, timid, and fearful, especially indoors, outside I get a confidence boost. When I'm outside I am very playful! I love to run and chase birds and rabbits. Chewing on sticks and rolling in the dirt is fun too! There's this fun game I play where I run as fast as I can and leap over bushes like I am one of those giant dogs that sometimes carry you hoomans. When I'm taking a break from playing I often look to my person to check in and let them know that I'm okay. Occasionally I will approach other people and sometimes if you offer me food I will come take it from your hand. My ideal home would be on fenced-in acreage (the hoomans say I need a secure yard) with other well-adjusted, same size doggy friends to play with and teach me the ins and outs of being a pet! My 'dopter needs to be a patient, kind, calm, gentle person (or possibly two) who have few visitors. Sounds are scary and I can be quite sensitive to them so a quiet, calm, low-key environment is what I want. I would really like someone who enjoys the outdoors as much as I do! I can find men to be a bit more intimidating than women and kids can be a bit frightening with all their energy. Cats are odd creatures so no cats for me, please! My foster parents love me very much and want what is best for me. While they own a small dog they know that I need other dogs with whom I can play with during the day and that can teach me more about how to dog. My foster parents are dedicated to doing whatever it takes to make sure my transition to a new home goes as smoothly as possible. If you are interested in learning more about me and potentially setting up a time to meet, please email my advocate at [email protected]

Contact

Pima County
Tucson, Arizona 85745

Contact Person:
Julia E

Email

Compatibility

  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Not Good with Cats
  • Good with Adults (Not Kids)

Personality

  • Average Energy
  • Submissive

Health

  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current
  • Fearful/Anxious

View Map

Send message

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.