Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

TessRescue Me ID: 18-12-04-00480

No longer available

About Tess

German Shepherd mix
Age: Puppy
Sex: Female

[Read About Natural Incontinence Care] Tess is a beautiful 1 year old German Shepherd who weighs about 60 lbs. She is spayed, up to date on shots, micro chipped, on heartworm and flea and tick prevention. We expect that she will be a large sized dog when full grown (check out those paws)! You may have also noticed the she is wearing a diaper. That is because she is a special needs dog now likely at the hands of a cruel individual. We suspect that she received some trauma when she was 6-8 weeks old (likely kicked) and of course received no vet care at the time of the incident. Then she found herself in the shelter when just 3 months old. The shelter had her broken tail amputated and had her spayed, but didn't realize her other injury. We have been to the vet and there is nothing that can done to repair the nerve damage. This will be a lifelong condition. She is bowel incontinent (meaning she can't control her fecal output). She has full functioning bladder control. I am not adopting her out to be an outside dog. Period. She is a beautiful girl who didn't ask for any of this and deserves to be an inside dog and live with a family. She lives in my home. . She will not be a lawn ornament. No small children due to her puppy nature and antics. Her 'special needs' take me less then 15 minutes a day of extra time versus a regular dog. She does very well at keeping herself clean and I have covers on my furniture that are easily washable.. If you don't think she is worth an extra 15 minutes of your time a day, please move on to the next dog, because I can assure you she is worth every second of it! Please don't apply for Tess out of pity for her, that would not be fair to her. We are looking for the right family who understand what her special need is and what it will take to offer her a lifetime of care and support. I know this may not be quick or easy .. and that is fine. Tess is just fine living with me in my home, learning how to be an inside dog until the right family comes along. She is perfect in every other way. She is smart, silly and a regular pup who loves to play, chase and chew toys! She gets along with the other dogs in the home and has full run of the house with access to the back yard. You must have a physically fenced yard, no exceptions. If you are serious about wanting to offer Tess a forever inside home, then please contact me at [email protected] and/or fill out the adoption application on our website We will offer a 2 week trial adoption period to an approved adopter so you have a chance to fully realize what is involved in offering her a permanent place in your family. Thank you for taking the time to read about this gorgeous girl, and if she is not the right fit for you, please share her profile so that the right family has a chance to find her!

White County
Cookeville, Tennessee 38506


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Good with Kids and Adults


  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament


Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.