Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

MouseRescue Me ID: 18-03-11-00207

No longer available

About Mouse

Adoption Fee: $295
Lab / German Shepherd
Age: Puppy
Sex: Male

Meet Mouse!!! Lab/Shepherd Mix Approx. 55 lbs. Approx. 1 yr old Hello! My name Mouse! (My foster family calls me Abe.) Despite a difficult upbringing (I was either hit by a car or shot in the leg - the vet isn't certain), I bear no emotional scars from the trauma. My innate resilience and fortitude have allowed me to persevere through many challenges and I remain unscathed by the experiences. This is a testament to my exceptional disposition. On Friday, March 2nd, when the transport vehicle arrived in St. Charles, I was greeted by yet another new face. This caused me no alarm because I am flexible at adapting to new situations. During my first evening in this unfamiliar land, I experienced my inaugural automobile ride. I must say, I thoroughly enjoy this contraption referred to as a car! The front seat perfectly accommodates my statuesque seated position and allows me to inhale the fresh air, which transports me to the Tennessee country of my youth. Since then, I have had the honor of accompanying my foster family on many car excursions. Riding has become one of my favorite pastimes. Upon arrival at my temporary accommodations, I was greeted by three somewhat familiar characters‰'Û|all similar to me in their attire (fur coats surely must be the fashion of the day). One reminded me of my long lost sister, while the other two appeared to be babies, although now that I've had the opportunity to become more acquainted with them, I realize they are merely vertically challenged. We became fast friends and I have enjoyed many leisurely strolls with them. I realize we all like the same scents and have an equal affinity for the great outdoors, although I could use some leash training as I get so excited when I'm outside. Before it slips my mind, I feel the need to comment on the accommodations at my temporary residence. I have been provided with a multitude of sleeping options, yet my favorite remains the tile floor. The coolness of the tile is an ideal compliment to my thick, yet exceptionally soft, fur coat. The crate‰'Û|.I just can't imagine being trapped in such a confined space with the door closed, but I do appreciate the option of having it available when I'm in the mood for a little nap after a long walk (door open, of course). Yet, I remain equally as comfortable snoozing on the carpet. Due to my occasional excitement over this new-found luxury concept of indoor living, I have a tendency to spontaneously jump for joy! My vertically challenged fur friends do not find this behavior endearing so I am working on tempering my level of enthusiasm. My human friends believe my upcoming neutering surgery will potentially ease my natural inclination to physically express my occasional overzealous happiness. Truly, this behavior is just a result of my overall cheerful disposition. I love being with others‰'Û|both fur friends and humans of all ages, but I am also content spending time on my own. I do believe a basket of toys makes for great fun. Alternatively, my inquisitive nature allows me to seek out other forms of entertainment. A shelf full of shoes can provide hours of entertainment! I particularly enjoy tossing them into the air to see how gravity impacts weight and size. I have concluded that flip flops can soar like kites, but tennis shoes can't travel as far in the air due to their weight - although the shoe strings of tennis shoes can be removed using well honed dexterity. Some say I actually have a gift. I realize that I am a president of the people, and thus should provide you with some basic facts, which will allow you to know me better: I am a little over a year-old retriever mix, weigh 51 lbs., have never had a bowel-related accident inside, am intellectually advanced (I learned how to properly sit in a day), and have the most delightful disposition. I am particularly appreciative of attention and love playing the game fetch. I can retrieve and release like a professional. I can entertain myself, but could happily spend hours with others. While I've never experienced the purported delights of a fenced yard, I'm confident it would be something I'd enjoy. But, long walks are much to my liking if a fenced yard isn't an option. Besides a bevy of chew toys and treats, hugs and attention are at the top of my list. Our standard adoption fee is $295 cash or check and $300 credit card ($5 processing fee). It includes spay/neuter when age appropriate at our participating vets, age appropriate core vaccinations, fecal testing, deworming, flea and tick preventative,1st vet visit at one of our participating vets, and micro-chipping. We must have an application, conduct a phone interview, and meet your entire family to approve an adoption. Please email [email protected] for an application or additional details. Please note that the breeds and sizes posted in this biography are educated best guesses and are not guaranteed. Please consider becoming a foster home while you search for your new bes

Kane County
Elburn, Illinois 60119


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Good with Kids and Adults


  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.