Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

SteinbeckRescue Me ID: 16-12-26-00203

No longer available

About Steinbeck

Adoption Fee: $250
Beagle / Basset Hound
Age: Adult
Sex: Male

*MUST LIVE IN 50-MILE RADIUS OF ITASCA (A SUBURB OF CHICAGO) WITHIN THE ILLINOIS BORDER TO ADOPT, NO EXCEPTIONS!* Aaaaa-woooo! That is beagle-speak for HELLO! My name is Steinbeck and I am a 6-year-old beagle/basset mix. If you are looking for a devoted, loveable, funny companion, it is your lucky day because I am available for adoption through Fetching Tails Foundation. I am a super handsome tri-color (white, tan, black) fellow, and like the stories by the author after whom I am named, I am loaded with heartwarming character: I am goofy, loving, entertaining, and if you give me the forever home I long for, I will never leave your side! My Fetching Tails friends saved me from Chicago Animal Care & Control, where my previous owner left me when they could no longer take care of me. I needed quite a bit of TLC when my foster mom brought me home; I was very overweight and had a fully ruptured ACL in one of my hind legs; my other ACL later ruptured as well because of the long-time strain of being obese. I ended up needing surgeries to repair the ligaments in both of my hind legs, and thanks to lots of TLC from my foster family, I have lost about 20 pounds (I weigh about 35 pounds now, which is a pretty healthy weight for me and I shouldn't get heavier than that again!) It has been quite a long journey to recover from my surgeries with lots of bed rest and rehabilitative exercises, but I am getting around much better now and I feel like a new dog who is ready to continue on my life adventure to find my forever family! I am a happy-go-lucky guy, and like many hounds, I love to spend time in the great outdoors sniffing all the lovely smells. I would love a fenced yard at my forever home so I can enjoy exploring and sunbathing. I also get along well with other dogs; I have a beagle, a doxie, and a small 'mystery mix' as my BFFs at my foster home. I am playful, but have had to sit back and watch them run around while my leg heals; thankfully they also like long cuddle sessions so we have had a good time sharing my doggie bed. I would prefer a forever home with another dog or two so we can be buddies and keep each other company when our people leave the house. I think I would do best with older kids (10+), and I would also do best in a forever home without cats. More than anything, I would love for my humans to be home more often than not because I simply love being around my people. It makes me so happy to lay near you, receiving belly rubs and head massages. My foster family tells me I am a well-behaved boy, as well. I am potty trained, and don't chew things I'm not supposed to in the house. I have a couple favorite toys I enjoy, and if you have to go out to run errands, I will settle down on my dog bed and wait for you to return. I do think I would do best in a single-family home instead of a townhouse or condo; I am what my foster mommy calls a 'storyteller' and I like to beagle bark to tell you all about my day, so it would be a good idea if we didn't share a wall with a neighbor who might not like my talking skills. I also need a forever home without stairs; I do fine with the one step to go outside at my foster home, but a full flight would be a challenge for me and I would be happiest if I didn't have to deal with all that! My fosters can fill you in with more details about my progress and how to make sure my legs continue healing properly! Like most beagles and bassets, I have a stubborn streak but am am also very smart; I know a few commands including sit and go to bed. I am treat motivated and think we could have some fun at training classes to see how much more I could learn! If you are looking for a dog who will be happy to be by your side through all of life's adventures, I am the handsome, attentive, LOVING boy for you! If you would like to arrange a meet-and-greet with me, please fill out an application and get in touch with my friends at Fetching Tails soon! As much as I love my foster home, I am ready to start my 'happily ever after' story with my forever family! Love, cuddles, and Aaaaa-woooos, Steinbeck ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS, NO EXCEPTIONS: *Be at least 21 years of age *Live in a 50-mile radius of Itasca, within the Illinois border *Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household *Have approval from owner of residence (written in lease) *Have a valid ID with current address *Be approved as a suitable adoptive home by Fetching Tails Foundation *Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment *ADOPTION FEE: $250 If interested please fill out an application on our website at; please make sure you fill in every requied field/question or your submission will not go through. If any questions please email us at [email protected]

DuPage County
Itasca, Illinois


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Not Good with Cats


  • Average Temperament


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.