Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

EmersonRescue Me ID: 20-02-06-00275

No longer available

About Emerson

Adoption Fee: $50
American Staffordshire Terrier / German Shepherd
Age: Adult
Sex: Male

Hi, I'm Emerson and I'm a 7 year old Staffordshire Terrier/German Shepard Mix. My family adopted me when I was a year and a half old, and I had a pretty horrible life before that. I was living with fighting dog breeders and the stud dog attacked me many times. You can still see some remnants of scars on my body. Since he kept attacking me I spent the first year of my life in a crate. I spent 6 months being rehabbed and then was adopted to my current family who I have been living with for the past 5 1/2yrs. The main word that describes me in loyal. I am completely devoted to my 'pack' and love them with all my heart. This is why it's so devastating to my humans that they need to seek a new home for me, but in the end it is the best option for me. Because of my past, I have some anxiety. It was suggested to get me a sister, but mom and dad didn't do a very good job at picking a good sister for me. My sister is also very anxious and once my little brother got added to the mix 18 months ago I decided my fur sister was too nervous to be a part of my pack. I'm still having a very hard time living with my fur sister and with a second human sister on the way my parents have decided that it's best for everyone if I can find a new pack that is more stable than the one I am currently in. My favorite hobbies include cuddling, playing fetch (for approximately 5-10 throws then I just want to cuddle), sleeping in the sunshine, car rides, hiking/going for walks and cuddling some more. My perfect family would be someone who is home every night to spend time with me, has a calm environment, and if you have kids - having older kids (I have been very good with my toddler human brother but they do worry me a lot with their running and screaming, I always think something is wrong!). If I will have another fur sibling then they have to be well socialized so that I can trust them in my pack. I am currently on anxiety medication (Clomicalm) but the plan of action is to wean me off of this. I am house broke, walk well on a leash (sometimes if a dog starts barking at me I might get very excited and pull) and am trained on an e-collar (my owners use the vibration to help tickle me back to reality when I start to get 'stuck' on something). I do well being left out all day in the house but am also crate trained and will happily go into a crate if you decide thats what you want! Please help me find my new forever family! If you have any questions please let my family know and they will be more than happy to help!

Loudoun County
Ashburn, Virginia


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Not Good with Cats
  • Good with Kids and Adults


  • Average Energy
  • Somewhat Dominant


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current
  • Abused/Neglected
  • Fearful/Anxious

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.