OliverRescue Me ID: 18-06-06-00243

About Oliver

Adoption Fee: $200.00
Yorkie mix
Age: Adult
Sex: Male

Oliver is mixed breed Yorkie but I was told he was just a Yorkie. I bought him when he was 4 months old. He is about 6 lbs. & will be 7 yr. in July. He is very engaging. Follows me around and almost always lets me go first. When a get a box of anything he is always interested in what is in it. He understands a lot of words and looks at me when I am talking to him. He sometimes tries to talk when he wants something. He will pick up things for me if he can like a pen or a piece of paper and expects a treat for his efforts. He has little dog syndrome meaning aggressive towards other dogs (except his brother) no matter what size the dog is. It's very hard to get him to eat. He was very scrawny when he first came to live with me and getting him to eat when I need him to has been challenging. He waits for his brother to start eating first but even then he may still not eat right away. He has a collapsing trachea (windpipe) so is not a dog you can walk on a leash. I have tried every harness out there but he pulls so hard the pressure of the harness makes him cough. He loves to run along the fence in my backyard & bark at everything & chase the rabbits. Would need a home with vertical fencing as he will climb something like a chain link fence. He's an escape artist. He has throat spams at times which cause him to panic. It's like when a person swallows the wrong way and is choking. You need to remain calm and just wrap him up in a blanket and pat him like a baby. He usually burps when he is okay and gets back to whatever he was doing. He sleeps with me in my bed so won't want to be kenneled at night. He snores when sound asleep. Potty trained for the most part. He paces back and forth by the door when he wants out. I confine him to my kitchen with newspaper on the floor if I can't take him with me. He loves to ride in the car. I have a soft kennel that he willing goes in. I put it on the front seat next to me with the door open. He's quiet in the car as long as he doesn't know where he is going so I try not to mention haircut or doctor. He eats Biljac for sensitive stomachs, small milkbones, training size pupperoni. I also have snack bags of rice & hamburger (mixed together)frozen. Food will go with pending. He has sweaters, Tshirts, toys, etc. that will go with him. I have started him on Heartworm preventative medicine and that will go with him. He prefers a lap versus being carried around. He gets scared when carried unless wrapped up in a blanket and able to look over your shoulder. Not sure why he gets scared. LOVES TO BE MASSAGED, and combed. He's likes to snuggle and be loved. I have a terminal illness so that is why I am trying to find a new home for him ASAP. I will email you a picture (s) if interested. You will need to pick him up from my home as I am unable to bring him to you. It's very heartbreaking for me to have to give him up so I will be very emotional about it.

Contact

Hennepin County
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55417-2439

Pamela Hawkinson: 612-822-2190

Call Now Email

Compatibility

  • Not Good with Other Dogs

Personality

  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament

Health

  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

View Map

Send message

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.