Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

HopeRescue Me ID: 18-01-09-00273

No longer available

About Hope

German Shepherd / Belgian Malinois
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Female

I'm Hope and here's my story. I am a special girl, you see, I am what is fondly referred to as a 'tripod'. I only have 3 legs, but you would never know it from the way I get around! I came to New Start Dog Rescue the first week of October. I was severely underweight, pretty sad and scraggly. When I arrived I was 40 lbs, and literally skin and bones. I am a super sweet shepherd mix and currently weigh 56 lbs. with a beautiful, soft, thick coat. I love to be brushed and will lay next to you enjoying that for quite some time. The vet says I am about 4-5 years old with the sweetest disposition. Soon after my arrival it was discovered that I had some issues with my leg and hip. After a few visits to the vet, x-rays and a second opinion, it was determined that I needed to have that leg amputated. You'd never know that I'm a tri-pawd by the way I get around though! I am finally pain free and can enjoy running around a yard, chasing squirrels and being happy. I'm still a bit skittish but have made a lot of progress with my foster mom and her pack. I love other dogs as long as they're not too small. I've got a pretty strong prey drive, so no cats in my forever home please. I need a home with a fenced in yard and pretty low key, laid back as I'm still pretty timid and would prefer a quiet home. I will take some time to get used to my forever home and settle in, but once I do, I will be your best friend. My foster mom says I am such a good girl, house trained and crate trained and I take treats ever so gentle. I love the snow and will hop around, scooping up mouthfuls of it as I enjoy being outside. If you think your family and lifestyle would be a good fit for me, please fill out an application on our website (link below) and we'll get checking you out just to make sure it's a good fit. After all, I deserve a pretty special home since I'm so special myself. My adoption fee is $275. I am already spayed, microchipped and up to date on all vaccines.

DuPage County
Warrenville, Illinois 60555


  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Not Good with Cats
  • Good with Adults (Not Kids)


  • Low Energy
  • Submissive


  • Spayed
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.