Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

PerryRescue Me ID: 17-12-29-00279

No longer available

About Perry

Adoption Fee: $75
Schnauzer mix
Age: Senior
Sex: Male

*MUST LIVE IN 50-MILE RADIUS OF ITASCA (A SUBURB OF CHICAGO) WITHIN THE ILLINOIS BORDER TO ADOPT* Why hello there! You look like you could use a spunky little friend who is funny and sweet; my name is Perry and I am an 8-year-old miniature Schnauzer mix who is looking for a forever home to call my own through Fetching Tails Foundation. I am a devoted little 10-pound gentleman who enjoys long snuggles and gazing lovingly at my favorite people. I am a ridiculously handsome fella, with black and gray hair and a curly tail that never stops wagging. But I bet my sweet face is what drew you to me; everyone tells me I have the most expressive big button eyes and it is impossible to look away when I bat my lashes at you: one look from me and you will know how much I adore you! And my silly underbite when I smile pretty much exemplifies my happy, funny personality! My friends from Fetching Tails saved me from Chicago Animal Care & Control, where I was surrendered by my previous owner. Thankfully my foster momma can't resist a handsome older dude like me and I got to head to her home immediately instead of staying at the busy, overwhelming shelter. Nothing makes me happier than being close to my human companions, so sitting in a cage at the shelter would not have been fun for me. I love to follow my foster family around like a little shadow and join them on the couch for cuddle time whenever possible, so I would love a forever home where my people are home most of the time so I can keep them company. Snuggling is by far my favorite activity, but don't let my age fool you because playing fetch with my favorite squeaky toys is a very close second! I hope my forever family will have lots of blankets for me to make a bed with because I also love curling up in my blanket for when I am ready for a nap! I currently live with other dogs and even kitties; I like to chase the kitties to get them to play with me so I would be fine with a feline friend who doesn't mind my silliness and would do best with smaller dogs that are a similar size to me. But I would also be perfectly content to be your one and only fur friend because I love human attention most of all! I make fast friends with humans and bond quickly; just invite me into your lap for a quick cuddle and we will be BFFs for sure! I have pretty wonderful manners, too. I am potty trained; I did a little marking the first day in my foster home but listened when told no and always let my fosters know when I have to go outside to do my business. I will bark or go stand near my leash and when you ask me if I have to go outside, I will do my happy dance to confirm! And I even wipe my paws before coming back into the house, isn't that so polite? I am great on a leash and happily prance alongside my person while on a walk. I am a bit of a talker and like to bark to let my humans know if I need something, or if I think my belly needs rubbing and my person is distracted by other things so it would probably be best if I lived in a single-family home rather than a townhouse or apartment so I don't bother the neighbors. I also want to tell you about a couple health issues I have so you know how best to take care of me: I had about 20 teeth removed when FTF saved me because they were rotten and infected; I am feeling much better now, but prefer to have soft canned food or kibble that has been soaked in water when I eat. I LOVE to eat, and happily lick up every last bite of yummy food! I also had a seizure after I was rescued and my foster mommy took me to the vet for tests to make sure I was ok. My blood work and tests came back normal, and my caring doctor put me on a low dose of anti-seizure medications to reduce the chance of it happening again. I take my medicine easily, and my foster mommy would be happy to explain more in detail. I am feeling great now that I have received such good care, and am excited to find my forever home where I can love and be loved all day, every day! If you think I am the sweet, silly, devoted fella for you, please get in touch with my foster mommy at FTF soon so we can start our happily ever after together! As much as I love my foster home, I am ready to enjoy a happy, fun-filled life with you by my side! XOXO, Perry ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS, NO EXCEPTIONS: *ADOPTION FEE: $75 *Be at least 21 years of age *Live in a 50-mile radius of Itasca, within the Illinois border *Have the knowledge and agreement of all adults living in the household *Have approval from owner of residence (written in lease) *Have a valid ID with current address (please provide proof of address if ID address is not up-to-date) *Be approved as a suitable adoptive home by Fetching Tails Foundation *Be prepared to make a lifetime commitment If interested please fill out an application on our website at; please make sure you fill in every required field/question or your submission will not go through. If any questions please email us

DuPage County
Itasca, Illinois


  • Neutered
  • Vaccinations Current

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.