Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

SaphiraAnimal ID: 36080987

No longer available

About Saphira

Adoption Fee: $80.00
Domestic Cat
Age: Young Adult
Sex: Female

I was found at a garden center when I was about 2 months old and was in pretty bad shape. The nice people who found me brought me to a nearby vet's office. I was quite a mess with fleas and parasites, and also needed antibiotics. Doctors determined that I have nerve damage near the base of my spinal cord. At first I had no feeling in my tail (which was later found to have been broken or dislocated at some point as well), and I walked flat-footed on my back paws, kind of like a kangaroo. I've been receiving acupuncture, cold laser therapy & chiropractic adjustments over the past several months and have made remarkable progress! I do not have complete control over my bowels and bladder, but I don't mind wearing my diaper & I keep making steady progress. Because I do not have total control my bladder does not empty completely, so to prevent stale urine from growing bacteria, I need my bladder expressed twice daily. My foster mom PROMISES this sounds much harder than it really is and will give you lessons until you get the hang of it-she says once you get it, things just click and it's easy! At bedtime and when my foster mom is away longer than a couple hours, I sleep in my cage, but otherwise I run around the house in my diaper and don't think I am different from any other kitty. I love to play with toys and dart about the house and then curl up in my foster mom's lap! I have the habit of lying in my litter box when I'm in my cage so non-clumping litter works best for me because it doesn't stick to me. If I need a bit of cleaning up, unscented baby wipes work well; and if I need a little more than a bit of cleaning up, I don't mind getting a bath-in fact I like to chase the bubbles down the drain! I also eat a prescription-canned food that is available at most vet offices and at PetSmart through Banfield Pet Hospital. This food prevents crystals from forming in my urine and makes me produce fewer stools. I know I sound like a handful, but I am such a sweet, playful & affectionate girl that I know I'm worth it-and my foster mom agrees! Plus, I'm super cute in my onesie diapers! I'm good while getting my nails trimmed, as long as I don't want to play. I tolerate dogs, though it does take me awhile to warm up to both dogs and other cats. I LOVE playing with the other cat in my foster home, so I would like a buddy. It just might take me a few days to decide I'm ready to make a new friend. I need a forever home where someone is home often to change my diaper every couple hours so I can run and play. Are you my purr-fect match? Did I mention that I just won 3rd place and $70 for WAAL in's 'Cutest Cat' contest? It's true! For more information or to fill out an adoption application, please visit

Sedgwick County
Wichita, Kansas 67208


  • Good with Most Cats
  • Good with Most Dogs
  • Good with Kids and Adults


  • Average Energy
  • Average Temperament


  • Spayed
  • Vaccinations Current
  • Incontinent

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.