Animal no longer available

Visit a different page:

DorothyRescue Me ID: 17-12-17-00353

No longer available

About Dorothy

Adoption Fee: $299
Age: Puppy
Sex: Female

Date into Rescue:2/28/2017.. note that sweet Dorothy found a new home in June of 2017 but sadly came back to us this week (Nov 2017). her human family have an unexpected pregnancy and do not feel they can provide her the attention she needs Reason for being in rescue: Dorothy's breeder was downsizing and moving her kennel. While working with her on several healthy adults, she told our director about this puppy. We offered to take her in. Foster location: Dreamweaver Farms, Pacolet SC Special Needs? Dorothy most likely has renal (kidney) dysplasia - her kidneys do not work right and are not formed correctly. She will need constant medical monitoring and may only live for 2 to 5 years. So far, she has had bloodwork and urinalysis and has been spayed. Medical paperwork available upon request. Dorothy loves attention and she can't be left alone for long periods of time. Her best home would be one with another gregarious dog to keep her company and / or someone home a lot . She thrives on attention and direction. I'd love to get her into a home that will introduce her to canine sports. She's agile and fast. Dorothy will be available for adoption through the month of December. If she does not find a home we plan to continue seeking a home and to look for sponsors to help us care for her for as long as she has through our SOS program. We believe that life is precious and should be celebrated and nurtured for whatever days, long or short, an animal or human has. For more information on SOS, please visit our webpage at Weight: 42.3 lbs Height: about 24' at the shoulder Adoption Fee: $299 Fence needed? It is much preferred as she is an active girl who loves to romp and play What kind of home would be best for me? Dorothy needs a home that will understand and be able to afford and actively manage her medical condition. So far, she is happy and active. However, based on the tests we've done so far, this may change. A consult with a local teaching hospital suggested bloodwork and urinalysis every 3 months to monitor her kidney function. She will need a controlled diet and the recommendation is for fish oil supplements which we are starting. , What is my personality like? Sweet, open, affectionate, friendly, happy and very, very active. How I act when I first meet new people: At home she is friendly. In new settings she can be anxious. She has only lived with her breeder on a farm and with her rescue - also on a farm. The big world and all we take for granted - walks on a leash around the neighborhood, cars, vists to Petsmart, relatives coming over to visit or stay, obedience classes and all the other things that make up life with dogs will all be new to her. She is smart and she will learn with patience and teaching on your part. House trained? Dorothy is currently crate trained but she has only recently started living in a house. She needs a lot of help and monitoring to become house trained. If left alone outside or inside the crate she will make a mess and a lot of that is anxious behavior. With another dog, she is just fine in her crate waiting for you to come home (no more than 2 hours alone). My age: birth date 6/16/2016

Cherokee County
South Carolina

Facebook Share/Comments

We block people who post offensive messages. See a problem? REPORT NOW

Please ✔ check "Also post on Facebook" after typing a question or comment.